COVID-19 in Victoria: Additional allowable absences

This content was published on Thursday 5 August 2021. There may be more recent updates available.

This week we announced services in a Commonwealth-declared COVID-19 hotspot can access additional allowable absences if the declaration extends for more than seven days. 

Services in Victoria will receive additional allowable absences in recognition of the recent hotspot declaration.

Services in the following Local Government Areas (LGAs) will have additional allowable absences applied from 15 to 27 July:

Banyule, Bayside, Boroondara, Brimbank, Cardinia, Casey, Darebin, Frankston, Glen Eira, Greater Dandenong, Hobsons Bay, Hume, Kingston, Knox, Manningham, Maribyrnong, Maroondah, Melbourne, Melton, Monash, Moonee Valley, Moreland, Mornington Peninsula, Nillumbik, Port Phillip, Stonnington, Whitehorse, Whittlesea, Yarra, Yarra Ranges, Wyndham, Moorabool, Greater Geelong, Borough of Queenscliff, Queenscliff and Point Lonsdale and Surf Coast Shire.

Services in the Bass Coast Shire, including Phillip Island, will have additional allowable absences applied from 17 to 27 July.

Services in Mildura will have additional allowable absences applied from 18 to 27 July.

You do not need to do anything to access these absences. The Child Care Subsidy System will automatically assess any absences claimed during the hotspot declaration period as emergency additional absences and backdate those absences as required.

Please ensure your contact details, particularly email addresses, are up to date in the Child Care Subsidy System so you don’t miss important information. Do this via the Provider Entry Point or your third-party software.