Request for Tender for Career Transition Assistance (CTA) 2019–2021

As part of the 2018-19 Federal Budget’s – More Choices for a Longer Life Package, the Australian Government announced that CTA would be available nationally from July 2019. As part of the rollout, the eligibility age would be lowered from 50 years and over, to 45 years and over.

On this page:

The former Department of Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business (the department) sought responses to the Request for Tender (RFT) from entities (Respondents) interested in delivering Career Transition Assistance (CTA) 2019–2021 from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2021.

CTA focuses on helping mature age job seekers 45 years and older become more competitive in their local labour market. CTA will provide opportunities for mature age people to identify and articulate transferable skills, increase their job readiness and better target their job search to local industries and available jobs, as well as applying for jobs – including online. CTA will also provide practical assistance focusing on the ICT and digital skills required to help Participants build confidence in using technology in the workplace.

New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory

  • Capital Region
  • Far West Orana (includes Broken Hill)
  • Hunter
  • Illawarra South Coast
  • Mid North Coast
  • Murray Riverina
  • New England and North West
  • North Coast
  • Sydney East Metro
  • Sydney Greater West
  • Sydney North and West
  • Sydney South West


  • Barwon
  • Bendigo
  • Gippsland
  • Goulburn/Murray
  • Inner Metropolitan Melbourne
  • North Eastern Melbourne
  • North Western Melbourne
  • South Coast of Victoria
  • South Eastern Melbourne and Peninsula
  • Western Melbourne
  • Wimmera Mallee


  • Brisbane South East
  • Cairns
  • Darling Downs
  • Fitzroy
  • Gold Coast
  • Mackay
  • Townsville (includes Mt Isa)
  • Wide Bay and Sunshine Coast
  • Wivenhoe

South Australia

  • Adelaide North
  • Mid North SA
  • Murray and South East
  • North West Country SA (includes Port Lincoln)

Western Australia

  • Broome
  • Esperance
  • Geraldton
  • Great Southern – Wheatbelt
  • Kalgoorlie
  • Perth – South
  • South West WA


  • Hobart and Southern Tasmania
  • North and North Western Tasmania

Northern Territory

  • Darwin (includes Alice Springs)

Successful organisations

Information sessions

The department held information sessions from 22 November 2018 to 27 November 2018 in capital cities (excluding Canberra and Hobart). A copy of the information session for the Request for Tender for Career Transition Assistance 2019–2021 can be found below.

Frequently asked questions

Further information

For more information on Career Transition Assistance, see the Career Transition Assistance website.

For further information, please email the Employment Services Purchasing Mailbox at or alternatively, call the Employment Services Purchasing Hotline on 1300 733 514 (Monday to Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm (Canberra time, excluding ACT and national public holidays).