Australia's first National Strategy for International Education 2025 sets out a 10-year plan for developing our role as a global leader in education, training and research.

The strategy

The National Strategy for International Education 2025 enables Australia’s international education sector to be more innovative, future-focused and globally engaged. It also:

  • Further strengthens our international reputation for high quality education and training
  • Drives collaboration in education and research
  • Increases opportunities for Australian providers and communities
National Strategy for International Education 2025


The National Strategy is based on 3 broad pillars:

  • Strengthening the fundamentals of Australia’s education, training and research system and our regulatory, quality assurance and consumer protection arrangements
  • Transformative partnerships between people, institutions and governments, at home and abroad
  • Competing globally by responding to global education and skills needs and taking advantage of emerging opportunities.
  • The implementation of the National Strategy is supported by an annual allocation of $3 million through the Enabling Growth and Innovation Program (EGI)
Foundation Skills - Employers

Supporting elements

The National Strategy is complemented by the:

Mature Age Hub_Employing mature age workers

Council for International Education

The Council for International Education sets the direction for Australia's role in international education and training. The Council supports the implementation of the:

The Council provides an annual report to the Prime Minister

Council membership

Council membership consists of experienced international education experts and practitioners and Australian Government Ministers with portfolio responsibilities in international education.

Council membership includes:

Ministerial members

  • The Hon Dan Tehan MP, Minister for Education (Chair)
  • The Hon Senator Marise Payne, Minister for Foreign Affairs
  • Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham, Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment
  • The Hon Alan Tudge MP, Acting Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs
  • Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash, Minister for Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business
  • The Hon Karen Andrews MP, Minister for Industry, Science and Technology

Expert Members

  • The Hon Phil Honeywood – CEO, International Education Association of Australia (Convener)
  • Professor Helen Bartlett – Vice Chancellor and President, University of the Sunshine Coast
  • Professor Linda Kristjanson AO
  • Professor Heather Cavanagh – Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Engagement, Charles Sturt University
  • Professor Michael Wesley – Deputy Vice-Chancellor (International), The University of Melbourne
  • Belle Lim – President, Council of International Students Australia
  • Malcolm Baigent – Executive General Manager, University Partnerships Australasia, Navitas
  • Janelle Chapman – Executive Director, TAFE Queensland International
  • Karyn Kent – CEO, StudyAdelaide
  • Kathleen Newcombe – CEO, Sarina Russo Group of Companies
  • Derek Scott – Principal and CEO, Haileybury

Learn more about the Expert Members.

More information