The Regional Employment Trials program helps local stakeholders provide employment and training related assistance to unemployed people.

Please note funding for new applications has now closed

How it works

Employment Facilitators will work with Regional Development Australia (RDA) to help develop employment and training projects that connect job seekers to local employment opportunities.

The Regional Employment Trials Program will deliver:

  • stronger connections between regional stakeholders, including employment services providers
  • tailored employment initiatives that meet local needs
  • improved awareness of local labour markets
  • the potential for improved regional employment outcomes

The Regional Employment Trials program concludes on 30 June 2021.

Project eligibility

To run a Regional Employment Trials Program you'll need to be a:

  • local government organisation
  • employer
  • training organisation
  • not-for-profit
  • other community group that provides employment or training to unemployed local people
  • Regional Development Australia Committee
  • jobactive, ParentsNext or Transition to Work Employment Services Providers

Funding for projects

A Local Employment Initiative Fund of $10 million is available for the 10 regions involved in the Regional Employment Trials program.

If eligible, you can apply for a grant between $7,500 and $200,000 for a project that helps create local jobs.

Successful projects include:

  • pre-apprenticeship placement programs
  • mature aged residents and local business leaders mentoring job seekers
  • preparing job seekers for future infrastructure projects in the region
  • work experience projects aligned with local employment opportunities

See if you're eligible for funding.

Areas involved and local contacts

State Region Employment Facilitator
NSW

Northern Inland RDA
 

Far South Coast RDA

Bronwyn Pearson
bronwyn@northerninlandemploymentfacilitator.com.au

Andrew Wales
andrew.wales@illawarrasouthcoastemployment.com.au

Victoria

Melbourne (Western Melbourne/North Western Melbourne Employment Regions only *)
 

Gippsland RDA

Terry Kennedy
terry.kennedy@melbournefacilitator.com.au

 

Luke Arber
luke.arber@gippslandfacilitator.org.au

Queensland

Townsville and North West (Townsville Employment Region only *)
 

Wide Bay Burnett RDA

Murray Lehmann (Townsville) Murray.Lehmann@dese.gov.au

Tamilyn Brennan (Cairns/Mt Isa)
tamilyn@fnqemployment.com.au
 

Austin Ryann
austin@widebayemployment.com.au

South Australia

Murraylands and Riverland RDA
 

Yorke and Mid North RDA

Christine Willersdorf
Christine.Willersdorf@employmentfacilitator.com.au
 

Lisa Brock
lisa@usgemployment.com.au

Western Australia Peel RDA Maryanne Baker
maryanne@southerndarlingrangefacilitator.com.au
Tasmania Tasmania (North and North Western Tasmania Employment Region only *) James McCormack
TasmaniaFacilitator@bigpond.com

* Employment Regions are boundaries used by the Department of Education, Skills and Employment to administer many of their employment services programs.

Resources

For more information, you can:

If you're a grant recipient, see the following information on the AusIndustry website:

Image
More information

Find jobs in regional Australia

The Regional Employment Trials (RET) program can also help you find work in regional Australia.

You may be eligible if you:

  • Live in one of the RET regions
  • Are part of the jobactive, ParentsNext or Transition to Work programs.

You can also volunteer to participate. Contact your local Employment Facilitator for more details.

Image
Contact an Employment Facilitator