Regional Agriculture Migration Package

The Australian Government announced the Regional Agriculture Migration Package today (19 November 2019) that included changes to the Seasonal Worker Programme Pilot.

On this page:

The Seasonal Worker Programme Regional Pilot that is running in the regions of Sunraysia (NSW/Victoria); Goulburn/Murray (Victoria) and the Riverina (NSW) will be extended until 
30 June 2022. From 1 January 2020, the pilot will also be expanded to the whole of the 
Wimmera-Mallee region in Victoria.

Pilot Approved Employers in the four pilot regions will have to undertake Labour Market Testing from 1 May 2020, which will be valid for a period of six months.

From 1 January 2020 all Approved Employers in the four pilot regions of Sunraysia, Goulburn/Murray, Riverina and Wimmera-Mallee will be able to share seasonal workers, by transferring their Temporary Activities Sponsorship. This will mean that smaller farmers and growers, who are Approved Employers under the SWP, that require seasonal workers for shorter periods of time could plan their harvest needs and user the same set of seasonal workers sequentially. We will provide the operational details of this arrangement shortly.

The other features and key principles of the SWP and the Regional Pilot, remain unchanged.

To find out more about the Australian Government’s announcement in relation to the Regional Agriculture Package, please see Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie's media release.