Mutual recognition

To work in some occupations individuals need to be registered and/or hold a license in the state or territory where they wish to work.

On this page:

In Australia, the states and territories have responsibility for deciding which occupations require a registration or license and any conditions for these. The Department of Education, Skills and Employment has no authority to register or license occupations, or alter any decisions made by a state or territory. 

The types of occupations and requirements for a registration or license may vary between states and territories. The mutual recognition of occupations allows a person who holds a registration or license in one state or territory to receive another registration or license in a different state or territory for an equivalent occupation after they have notified the local registration authority.

Applications for the mutual recognition of any registration or license needs to be made to the relevant registration authority in the state or territory where a registration or license is being sought. As the mutual recognition of a registration or license is not automatic, individuals must apply for recognition of their existing registration or license and pay any applicable fees.

For example, a person who is licensed as an electrician in New South Wales and wishes to work in Victoria will need to lodge an application with the Victorian local registration authority to become registered in Victoria.  The Victorian local registration authority will consider the New South Wales license and assess whether the person is eligible for an equivalent Victorian electrician’s license. If they determine the occupations are equivalent, the person can be registered and issued an electrician’s license in Victoria. The local registration authority may also place conditions on a license.

Similar mutual recognition arrangements for occupations also exist between Australia and New Zealand.

Latest News

Business Research and Innovation Initiative (BRII) – Automatic Mutual Recognition of Occupational Registrations (AMR) grants.

On 19 October 2021, opened the Business Research and Innovation Initiative (BRII) – Automatic Mutual Recognition of Occupational Registrations (AMR) grants.

The Business Research and Innovation Initiative provides businesses with funding to solve government challenges using innovative approaches and technologies. This round will focus on the Automatic mutual recognition of occupational registrations (AMR) scheme.

What do you get?

Grants from $50,000 to $70,000 for your feasibility study. If your feasibility study is successful, you may receive up to $675,000 to develop a proof of concept.

Who is this for?

Small to medium enterprises.

For more information visit

AMR scheme commencement

On 1 July 2021, a new national Automatic Mutual Recognition of Occupational Registrations (AMR) scheme commenced in New South Wales, Victoria, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory. The scheme will progressively commence in other states. 

AMR will cut red tape, do away with additional fees and paperwork, and create a more mobile workforce to help businesses grow, enable workers to take up jobs and contribute to Australia’s economic recovery and resilience. 

The new scheme will apply for a limited number of occupations initially and include more occupations as Australia transitions to the new scheme. 

AMR allows a person who is licenced or registered for an occupation in one jurisdiction to be considered registered to perform the same activities in another jurisdiction, without the need to go through further application processes or pay additional registration fees.

More information is available on the Deregulation Taskforce occupational mobility webpage.

Further information

Further information on the mutual recognition of occupations can be found on the frequently asked questions page or by contacting the Department of Education, Skills and Employment at

Information in relation to the mutual recognition of goods is available from the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources at