The outcomes of the Women in STEM Cadetships and Advanced Apprenticeships Program 2021 application round have been announced.

About the program

The Australian Government has committed $24.8 million from 2021 to support women who are working in paid employment to study an industry-relevant, higher education Diploma, Associate Degree or Advanced Diploma in a STEM field.

Higher education providers participating in this four-year program will be awarded a grant to deliver the approved STEM programs. Employers will also be recipients of grant funds, to recognise some of the costs associated with flexible work arrangements.

Application round

During December 2020 and January 2021, the Department of Education, Skills and Employment invited higher education providers to apply to deliver courses under the program.

Applications have now closed.

The program has approved awarding of grants to support nearly 600 women across Australia. A total of 18 higher education providers have been approved to deliver 37 courses. The student cohort for this program consists of employees from a variety of industries, undertaking courses in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics or Agriculture. Participating providers have initially identified more than 40 employers to participate in the program.

Approved providers

The following higher education providers have been approved to potentially deliver courses under the Program:

  • Academy of Information Technology
  • Central Queensland University
  • Charles Darwin University
  • Curtin University
  • Flinders University
  • Griffith University
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash College
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • RMIT University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • TAFE Queensland
  • The University of Melbourne
  • The University of Notre Dame Australia
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of Sunshine Coast
  • Victoria University

The department in the process of confirming the details of providers’ and employers’ participation in the program and implementing the necessary deeds of agreement.

Further information

Further information about the Program requirements for higher education providers, employers, and employees can be found in the conditions of grant as set out in the Other Grants Guidelines (Education) Amendment (Women in STEM) 2020 or the program’s Frequently Asked Questions page.


Please direct any queries relating to this program to the inbox.